The 2015 Short Story Advent Calendar, Editor Michael Hingston

IMG_2174

This is the best idea since sliced bread: an advent calendar that offers you a short story every day instead of a beer or a piece of chocolate. The only thing that could have improved the experience would have been if each story also came with a wine pairing. (Mike, are you noting this for next year?)

Only some of the stories had a Christmas theme (mostly the last few), and they were all fantastic showcases of diverse narrative styles and the various powers of short fiction. I monitor Michael Hingston’s reads with envy, and now that he’s given me a taste of some of his favourite stories, I feel substantially cooler after completing his curated collection. I don’t know if it’s possible for me to pick a favourite—though Naomi K. Lewis’ “Flex” still blows my mind when I think about it.

Mike, can you please send me a short story to read every day? You can just tweet me a link to it, if that’s easier. Thank you!

Books read: 8

Leave a Reply

