Crush, Richard Siken

siken.jpg

We read Richard Siken’s other book, War of the Foxes, in the summer. Sitting under a canopy in Alice and Miranda’s back yard, we listened to Matthew talk about how he preferred Crush. He had it in his bag, even. Read us a poem. I remember that it was hot that day and that there were grapes, but I may be inventing the grapes.

Now that I’ve read the whole thing, I can tell you that I also prefer Crush. Though I was convinced when Matthew started reading. These poems are all about obsessive love. They’re erotic and ferocious and just fucking brutal. All of these poems convey this cinematic imagery and you end up just wrapped in everything that’s happening in them. There’s no pretense, just poetry.

I fucking love this book.

Books read: 13

Leave a Reply

