Station Eleven – Emily St. John Mandel

20170404

“No one ever thinks they’re awful, even people who really actually are. It’s some sort of survival mechanism.”

HOLY SHIIIIIT.

This year (and this Bookstravaganza), I’ve read some pretty darn good books, books that I consider favourites (and it takes a LOT for a book to make it to my favourites).  I began the year with White Teeth by  Zadie Smith.  In the summer, I read Monkey Beach  by Eden Robinson.  And now, near the end of 2015, I have finished Station Eleven.  And yep – holy shiiit, this one was good.

This is on the Canada Reads long list for 2016, on the theme of starting over.  I will be incredibly upset if it doesn’t get shortlisted, and if it doesn’t win.  I haven’t read any of the other books.  But I want this one to win.

The premise of Station Eleven is that a flu has wiped out 98% of humanity.  I’m a fan of tastefully-done dystopian fiction, like Kazuo Ishiguro’s Never Let Me Go and PD James’ Children of Men.  This book falls in that category.  But this book doesn’t just touch on how we survive in a post-apocalyptic world – it thoroughly examines what it means to be human, pre-and post-collapse.  One particularly poignant thought one of the characters has is this: “The beauty of this world where almost everyone was gone. If hell is other people, what is a world with almost no people in it?”

I can’t wait for Bookstravaganza to be over so I can reread this book.  It was just magical, beautiful, amazing.  Go read this book.  What are you doing still reading this review??

Books read: 15

One response to “Station Eleven – Emily St. John Mandel

Leave a Reply

