100 Essays I Don’t Have Time to Write

100EssaysBookCover.jpg

Finally! It’s December 23 and I’ve finished my first book for Bookstravaganza. This has been on my to-read list for a while now and I opened it up in the first couple weeks of December but even though I was instantly charmed by Ruhl’s insightful and fun essays, school was a too overwhelming and I set reading aside until I was on break. After taking the first two days of my holiday break to sleep, I finally returned to 100 Essays I Don’t Have Time to Write and finished it last night.

I adored this book; it’s a fairly light read in terms of length and difficulty but each of Ruhl’s mini essays is insightful and amusing. I think it’s a great read for writers or other creatives, especially if you’re interested in theatre. As someone that constantly has a list of ideas bubbling in their mind but never enough time to tackle all of them, it was easy to identify with the idea behind the book – plus great incentive to work towards putting your ideas out into the world, sometimes a polished snippet is as powerful as a long and fully developed piece.

In case you’re interested, one of Ruhl’s plays, In The Next Room or the vibrator play, will be on at the Arts Barns in February (Trunk Theatre, directed by Amy DeFelice).

Leave a Reply

