The Martian, Andy Weir

martian-gallery3-gallery-image

Like most of us, I went to see The Martian a few weeks ago. I know Star Wars is the trend right now, but I haven’t seen it, so this is still my space movie of choice. And now, it’s my space book of choice too.

 

I have a bad habit of seeing the movie before I see the book, and it always colours my reading experience. In the case of The Martian, I read the whole thing in Matt Damon’s voice. Not a bad thing, but a thing nonetheless. Having finished reading this thing a couple of days ago and not gotten around to posting about it ’til just now, I’m having a bit of trouble gathering my thoughts about it.

Overall, it’s a pretty fun Mars romp. The construction Weir uses (telling most of it through Mark Watney’s mission logs) is pretty standard space fare, and it works really, really well here because he’s created one of the most likable characters I’ve ever come across.  The copy I have includes a neat essay at the back about how being into science made Andy Weir into a writer, and he writes there about his desire to make Watney fallible. That fallibility makes Watney a very relatable character (even though he’s a goddamned astronaut), and it made this book a pleasure to read.

Books read: 7

One response to “The Martian, Andy Weir

Leave a Reply

