Gender Failure, Rae Spoon & Ivan E. Coyote

genderfailure

You’ll have noticed I’m a bit behind on my usual Bookstravaganza pace. There are good reasons for that, and oddly enough none of them have anything to do with the graduate degree I am pursuing. I’ve adopted a new kitten and I’ve been spending a bunch of time with a quite handsome fellow. The kitten is sitting here staring at me, trying to figure out if she should gnaw on my finger for awhile, and I’m trying to take a suitably cute picture of it to send to the fellow. There are many distractions.

I did manage to finish this book yesterday, and it’s going to be mandatory assigned reading for everyone I know. In the fall, I attended a couple of LitFest events featuring one of this book’s authors, Ivan E. Coyote, and was blown away by their engaging approach to storytelling and blistering honesty. I’m terrified to share my own stories, and they require so much less bravery than these ones. This book is a collection of autobiographical essays, lyrics, and images documenting Ivan and Rae’s journeys towards gender acceptance. I was particularly struck by Rae’s discussion of our transphobic adherence to outdated rules of grammar that reinforce the gender binary. Rae’s statement that “[They] don’t believe anything like grammar should have priority over what makes people comfortable” is pretty powerful. Their discussion of gender as a fluid narrative is also something everybody should read, and my copy of this book is on loan for anyone who’d like to read it.

Books read: 4

2 responses to “Gender Failure, Rae Spoon & Ivan E. Coyote

Leave a Reply

