Book List Five: An Introduction to Matthew and How to Get Away with Murder

Here I am: Bookstravaganza number five. Back in 2011, Dorothy challenged me to a “friendly” reading competition to see which of us could read the most books during our holiday break from university. (You can read my original recap here, but she’d want me to note here that she won.) Flash forward to now, and we’re done school (well, I am—Dorothy’s working on her master’s), more friends are involved, and we’re leveraging our fifth Bookstravaganza as a fundraiser for the Edmonton Public Library.

Five is also the number of books I will likely read this month. (My stack below has fourteen, but I’m not quite confident I’ll even read ten.) The thought of reading as many books as I have in previous years on top of selling magazines at craft fairs, attending holiday events, writing Christmas cards, spending time with friends and family, and doing whatever else comes up this month gives me a chest-tightening anxiety. (Plus, I foolishly started streaming How to Get Away with Murder a few days ago, and since I’m swearing off TV for December, the entire month I’ll be wondering who killed Lila Stangard.)

Despite all these to-dos and distractions, I’m here. Bookstravaganza has been a constant in my life for the last four Decembers, and it’s difficult to give up something that’s been good to me. (And I have to read eleven books to achieve my Goodreads goal, so why not tack Bookstravaganza onto that?) If this were any other year, I’d be telling you what HTGAWM has taught me about defeating Dorothy, about all the ways I could cheat the system. But since we’ve changed the competition this year and will instead be working together towards a joint goal of reading 100 books, I don’t need to tell you how I considered framing Dorothy for the murder of her nanny. And as Annalise has taught me, sometimes you need to work together with the prosecution to achieve a similar goal—as long as you always remain two steps ahead of them.

I hope you’ll join me in my struggle, peruse my stack below, read my reviews, and donate money to the Edmonton Public Library for their epl2go Literacy van so that they can remove another barrier in the way of access to literature.

Now, if you’ll excuse me, I need to watch another episode of HTGAWM before the clock strikes Bookstravaganza.

IMG_2116

Not pictured: My Short Story Advent Calendar, which I’m still waiting to be delivered!

Leave a Reply

