The Opposite of Loneliness, Marina Keegan

Well, I have definitely veered off my stack. I also purchased this the other day at Chapters. To be fair, my stack is more of a literal book shelf/corner in my home, as well as in my mind. The picture I posted a month ago was more of a sampler pack of “books to read”.

Marina, Marina, Marina. Her story is a bit tragic, because she is no longer with us. She passed away in a car crash a couple of years ago. She had all the promise in the world: a young twenty something, a Yale grad, and an auspicious writer.

It’s not as if I don’t read things by people who are dead. However, there is something slightly unsettling when it’s someone who has died within your lifetime, who is within your age range, that you could have (in theory) had tea with, you know? For example, I am still sad about Terry Fox. That guy seemed cool. If he was still alive, I would have attended a talk by him at the Myer Horowitz. Maybe I would have dated his (theoretical) son? (Side note: I’ll say it. Terry Fox was kind of a fox.)

This book is a collection of Marina’s work. Her stories have a lot of interesting detail and direction. I think her fictional pieces could become short plays and her non-fiction helped me to connect with who she was, as clearly we will not meet in this life. What I really took away from her writing is that you should not waste time doing things that you neither love or were not meant to do. If you have a passion, you should be nurturing it. I can actually hear Marina shouting at us from her piece “Even Artichokes Have Doubts”. We don’t know how much time we have left, so make the most of it, and pursue what makes you excited to get up in the morning. Don’t do something just because everyone else is doing it!!

With that, I am off to a New Year’s Eve party, where I will be living out the word that is the opposite of loneliness. Happy New Year, everyone! Thanks for reading and for your donations to the EPL. I look forward to Bookstravaganza 2015! Read, be inspired, inspire someone else, read some more, repeat!

P.S. For Marina and every person who decides daily to do it their way. Cheers!: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1t8kAbUg4t4

Books read: 16

marina keegan

Leave a Reply

