Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist, Rachel Cohn and David Levithan

nickandnorah

I’ll take “movies I never saw” for $500, Alex. When the film adaptation of this came out in 2008, I’d never heard of David Levithan or his writing partner, Rachel Cohn. That’s likely the time in my life I’d have gotten the most out of them. Unfortunately, I didn’t discover Levithan’s writing until December 31, 2013, when I read Will Grayson, Will Grayson, and got all moony about how amazing my friends are. It’s just odd to come at books about eighteen year olds when you’re planning your grocery list. But hell, just because I pay taxes doesn’t mean I can’t read young adult fiction. And there are no vampires in this, so I feel pretty good about it.

I love this book. Love, love, love. We could all stand to read a little more YA. In this book, Nick and Norah are getting over their respective exes, and they have an epic night in New York City set to great punk music. We’ve all seen the movie. Except me. I have not seen the movie. The best YA is really pretentious about music, and as I am really pretentious about music, I appreciate that. For the record, I listened to Operation Ivy while I read this book. That’s gotta earn me a little bit of cred, right? I’m not sure what kind of cred.

Like most David Levithan, this book’s eminently quotable, and I’ll just share a couple of those quotes before I read another book before bed. I’m reading forty, people. It’s happening.

“The mosh pit will reveal all the answers. The mosh pit never lies.”

“Fuck this wondering. Fuck this trying and trying. Fuck this belief that two people can become one ideal.”

“But I guess you don’t see the planets when you’re staring at the sun.”

“I am nervous as fuck, vulnerable as anything.”

Books read: 36

One response to “Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist, Rachel Cohn and David Levithan

Leave a Reply

