The Selected Poetry of Rainer Maria Rilke

rilke

 

Possible new Bookstravaganza rule: no poetry. We’ll discuss. The huge time constraint we place upon ourselves this month makes it really, really hard to truly appreciate poems of this caliber. Rilke was a genius. So there’s that.

Last year I attended a session at the Edmonton Poetry Festival about translation. I’ve considered picking it up as a hobby, but I don’t have a poetic enough mind (and also I am a grad student with no time for hobbies). This book contains the original versions of a bunch of Rilke’s poems, along with their translations and notes. And they were lovely, although I was too rushed to really enjoy them. Lots of stuff about death, angels, and stars. I’d like to come back to this in a month or so.

Books read: 35

One response to “The Selected Poetry of Rainer Maria Rilke

  1. I have a hard time with reviewing books of poetry in general. I don’t always want to move right from one to the next, I want to pick it up and put it down, but when you’re reading something to review or summarize, that doesn’t work so well. So I can’t imagine doing it for Bookstravaganza!

Leave a Reply

