The Divine Secrets of the Ya-Ya Sisterhood

Guilty confession: I’m a pessimist in most of my life but when it comes to all the things I want to do in my free time, I’m an optimist. This is only my 6th book review of the 40 I had hoped to do but as much as I’m a bit disappointed by how few books I’ve read this month, I’m glad that I prioritized enjoying the holiday season with my family and taking care of my health during the busiest couple of months at my job.

yaya sisterhood

On to the book! This was another pick that my friend lent me for the challenge, it never made it onto my reading list before this and now that I’ve read it, I’m glad that it finally ended up in my book stack! An engaging romp, what make this story delightful is the beautifully woven web of relationships. Comfortably switching between the present, and stories of the Ya-Yas during their younger years, the book paints a charming picture of female friendships. I’ve never really had a group of incredibly close lifelong girlfriends like this, the novel succeeded in making me wish I could have experienced such a passionate kind of group friendship.

The plot of the novel feels relatively insignificant, I feel like this novel would have been equally engaging if the characters had spent the duration of the story sitting in a circle knitting! Each personality and character was lovingly brought to life and I was definitely sad when the novel ended. I doubt that I would read the sequel (and I will definitely be avoiding the film), I think I would prefer to leave this story at the sweetly wrapped up ending that Rebecca Wells presented readers.

Leave a Reply

