The Hundred-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out of the Window and Disappeared – Jonas Jonasson

13624183

“The very biggest and apparently most impossible conflicts on earth were based on the dialogue: ‘You are stupid, no, it’s you who are stupid.’ The solution, said Allan, was often to down a bottle of vodka together and then look ahead.

As a result of going to Cold Lake for Christmas, then staying at my parents when they brought home a Pomeranian-Havanese bundle of joy, I became severely behind on doing book reviews.  While I had many long car rides and moments of pause to read, the same did not occur for blogging.  So here I am about to dump a massive load of book reviews on y’all – bet you thought I wasn’t going to try and keep my second place, did you?

surprise_bitch_american_horror_storyanigif_original-grid-image-28764-1387214459-3

My mom lent me this book with the idea that it would be a quick read, and nothing too heavy after my last long read, Lullabies for Little Criminals.  It wasn’t, mostly because I didn’t really care what was going to happen to Allan and his merry band of misfits, or what had happened in his hundred years of life, and didn’t want to flip the page.  It was entertaining, silly, and as all the reviews say, a centenarian, Swedish Forrest Gump.  But an amazing book, no.

It was admittedly entertaining when Allan Karlsson faces off against Stalin and a teenage Kim Jong Il, but as the story progressed from ridiculous to more ridiculous, I often found myself rolling my eyes at the plot progression.  Admittedly, I’m probably not the target audience for this kind of book.

I guess one thing I can take away from this book is how full you can make your life, and that you don’t necessarily have to follow the stereotypical capitalist life plan of go to university, get a job, get married, have children, retire, die.  It’s never too late to make your own life and not be brought down by societal expectations.  This is something I try to strive towards, since I don’t believe in having a stereotypical life.  I want to travel, have adventures, and maybe not necessarily settle down, if ever.  I probably won’t blow up my own house and have the future Korean dictator sit on my lap as a child, but life really boils down to what you make of it.

Books read: 17

2 responses to “The Hundred-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out of the Window and Disappeared – Jonas Jonasson

  1. So who is the target audience? 🙂 I’ve had my hand on this one a few times. It was highly recommended but I sort of felt the same way, a little too Forrest Gump-y.

Leave a Reply

