As You Wish: Inconceivable Tales from the Making of The Princess Bride – Cary Elwes

362072-JT8B

“Fencing. Fighting. Torture. Poison. True love. Hate. Revenge. Giants. Hunters. Bad men. Good men. Beautiful ladies. Snakes. Spiders. Pain. Death. Brave men. Cowardly men. Strongest men. Chases. Escapes. Lies. Truths. Passion. Miracles.”

The Princess Bride is easily one of my favourite movies of all time.  I have a hard time relating to people who haven’t seen it or who don’t like it, it’s just out of my realm of understanding.  I first watched it as a child and, unlike iocane powder, it just got better with age (That’s a Princess Bride reference if you don’t get it).

One of the greatest things to ever happen was at Calgary Comic Expo in 2013, when Cary Elwes, who played Westley, and Chris Sarandon, who played Prince Humperdinck, were guests.  My brother and I got photos with the two of them and also went to their panel and heard them tell stories of what it was like to film the movie, stories which are echoed in Cary Elwes’ memoir of the experience.  Westley was my first crush as a five year old and to meet him in person was just a fairy tale dream come true.

My brother got me this memoir for Christmas and I devoured it instantly. Even though I’d heard some of the stories before, it was neat to see them echoed again in this book.

I love this movie so much.  If you don’t love this movie I don’t love you.  I obviously loved this book and hearing about what it was like to film, as well as some of the behind the scenes stuff that Cary Elwes would have experienced.  If you loved the movie, you will love this book.

Books read: 19

Leave a Reply

