The Silent Wife, A.S.A. Harrison

thesilentwife

If I had a dollar for every time I should have listened to Matthew…

This wasn’t very good. And that wasn’t a surprise. Matthew dog-eared this book to remind himself of parts he hated, and if you don’t know Matthew, that’s essentially an act of murder. He wanted to murder this book.

I mean, fuck. Okay. So nobody in this book is a good person. That’s fine. I’ve read books before where everybody sucked, but the book was still good. Decent enough authors can pull that off. You have to have a modicum of skill for it, though. This book is formulaic, trivial bullshit and the characters were one-note assholes who I didn’t have sympathy for. I enjoyed reading this in that way we all enjoy watching reality television. In other words, it made me feel better about myself.

One of the reviews I read of this book called the plot the ‘slow, murderous disintegration of a marriage,’ and the problem I’m having with that statement is that everything in this book had a quality of ‘that escalated quickly’ about it. Everything was rushed but also expected, and it wasn’t satisfying in any way other than one of the people you wanted to die did. The thing is that you wanted everyone to die. I’m re imagining the end of this book. It’s a nuclear holocaust. That improves it.

Books read: 30

 

Leave a Reply

