Hyperbole and a Half, Allie Brosh

I love Allie Brosh. I have been a huge fan of her blog ever since I discovered her post on the Alot. This is my very favourite meme:

ALOT2

I own it on a t-shirt.

Her book kept me giggling and was drenched in the healthy amount of hyperbole you can find on her blog. I also appreciate her brave and open discussion of her depression, which you can read on her blog here. I believe it’s important to talk about mental health, and I think this post allowed a lot of people to begin that conversation.

But can we talk about this book as a physical object for a second? Because it is garish and clunky. I understand why you’d want to use a Microsoft Paint palette to mimic Brosh’s style on her blog, but when you put white text on a page’s coloured background, it makes for an unpleasant reading experience. And the book is so bulky and the binding so stiff–I had difficulties opening it wide enough to read it. (Admittedly, this is my own problem because I’m afraid of breaking spines and even more so with this book since I borrowed it from a friend who managed to not crease the spine.)

I think Allie Brosh lives best on the Internet.

Books read: 5

Leave a Reply

