Sex, Drugs, and Cocoa Puffs, Chuck Klosterman

Oh Chuck Klosterman, how you make me laugh and then make me want to karate chop you in the throat. Klosterman is the guy at the party who is always talking. He’s obviously intelligent, but his favourite pastime is getting into philosophical arguments about anything and everything with anyone.

Sex, Drugs and Cocoa Puffs is a collection of essays that explores how modern pop culture has shaped how we view ourselves and other people. It’s peppered with references like John Cusack, Saved by the Bell, the Boston Celtics, and Billy Joel. He likes to hammer home how modern entertainment has made us group people into one-dimensional archetypes for the sake of convenience. If we encounter anyone more complex than that, they are quickly tossed aside, as we can not quickly categorize them.

I get that. For example, I like cats, but I don’t like to think I am defined by my love of cats. Yet people who know me insist on showing me or giving me anything to do with cats. That’s fine, like I said, I like cats. But I have a suspicion people like to put me in that cat lady or future crazy cat lady box, because it is easy, not because it is true. Liking cats is only one facet of my personality, not the entirety. I mean, I don’t even own a cat.

As far as the book goes, I am not sure how well it would go over with someone unfamiliar with pop culture. I got most of the references, but even I was having to look up basketball jump shots on YouTube. So, It might be fine, however, you will be pretty dependent on Klosterman’s personal views on everything. If you are okay with that, go to town! Like I said, I found myself laughing quite a bit, but other times I wished he would just stop talking. That said, Klosterman is self-aware enough to know how annoying and pompous he can be, and that is part of his complexity.

Books read: 11

sex drugs cocoa puffs

2 responses to “Sex, Drugs, and Cocoa Puffs, Chuck Klosterman

Leave a Reply

