Born Indian, WP Kinsella

 

bornindian

The last day I was in Victoria, I bought ten million books. Well, sixteen. It’s still a lot of books to check on an airplane. This was one of them. I stumbled on it in a used bookstore in Sidney, which as towns go is the greatest, as it’s a booktown. Legitimate thing. And wonder of wonders, it’s a signed copy. Thanks, magic bookstore!

I’ve somehow not read WP Kinsella before. Made it through a whole writing degree without a single one of his books or short stories. I’ve also never seen Field of Dreams, but that’s less surprising. This book, Born Indian, is a collection of short stories about a group of young folks in what was then known as Hobbema. They’re loosely connected stories, all narrated by the same man, Silas Ermineskin. I don’t have a lot to say about any of the stories, unfortunately. The first story of the book hit me a bit harder than the rest, but I’m not sure how much of the rest will stay with me. The characters were quaint, and Silas Ermineskin had a fairly engaging voice. That’s about all I’ve got.

Books read: 20

Leave a Reply

