A Dirty Job, Christopher Moore

If you are not familiar with Christopher Moore’s writing, he’s the author you turn to when you want something cheeky, witty, sarcastic, silly, a bit crude, but still intelligent. My first encounter with Moore was when I came across the book The Island of the Sequined Love Nun for book club, and yes, it was as ridiculous as it sounds.

A Dirty Job takes us on a journey with Charlie, a beta male, who has recently become a widower, a new father, and one of San Francisco’s newest grim reapers/death merchants. There is a schwack of crazy characters in this book, including an army of 14 inch reanimated, frankenstein animal creatures, hellhounds, sewer harpies, and a man named Minty Fresh. Overall this is an adventure about Charlie finding himself and his stride in the world. I think when I was about a third of the way in, the line, “This guy wasn’t really living, until he became Death” popped into my head and then sure enough, Moore spouts off a similar line later in the book.

What this read really made me want to do was re-watch old episodes of the television series Dead Like Me, which has a similar premise AND Mandy Patinkin. There were only two seasons of Dead Like Me, but it’s worth looking into, if you are into dark comedies about grim reapers.

Books read: 9

a_dirty_job_200

4 responses to “A Dirty Job, Christopher Moore

    • Hi Laura! Yay!! Another Dead Like Me fan! Yeah, I don’t think it is a bad place to start. From what I have read of Moore, your best bet is just to pick a subject you are interested in (e.g. vampires, Shakespeare, Christianity, cannibals etc.) and don’t mind having some fun poked at it (think Monty Python style teasing) and go to town! He’s worth checking out, whether you decide you like it or not =) The characters are always colorful and the writing is a little salty.

  1. I’ve wanted to read Dead Like Me for a while now! Have you read Fool? It’s Moore’s version of King Lear (more or less), and it’s definitely a favourite of mine.
    Also, Dead Like Me! Yay! I love that show.

    • I haven’t read Fool yet, but I’ll definitely have to add it to the list =) haha I know, I want to re-watch all the Dead Like Me episodes come the New Year! It’s time.

Leave a Reply

