The Rosie Effect – Graeme Simsion

22674895

“To the world’s most perfect woman.’ It was lucky my father was not present. Perfect is an absolute that cannot be modified, like unique or pregnant. My love for Rosie was so powerful that it had caused my brain to make a grammatical error.” 

I read The Rosie Project for Bookstravaganza last year.  It only took me a day to finish reading while the household around me hustled and bustled on Christmas day.  I was hoping The Rosie Effect would have a similar, for lack of a better term, effect.  It took me three days to finish, though that was largely because I spent last night drinking Copper Moon and eating lemon cookies with two of my oldest friends as well as texting my dad that he should get a puppy (he did not, the heartbreaker).

I enjoyed The Rosie Project because it felt unconventional.  Quirky characters, a unique plot device, and an interesting narrative style.  The Rosie Effect repeated much of that, but felt more cliche.  The first book was boy meets girl then gets girl, but it didn’t feel as normative as its sequel, which was boy has girl, boy comes close to losing girl, wins her back in the end.

If you love the character of Don Tillman, read this book for more of him.  Rosie felt less developed in this sequel, a vacant plot device meant only for the advancement of the protagonist, and not the girl we, like Don, fell in love with in the first book.

That’s the thing about sequels though, right?  It was entertaining, but not as good as the first.

Books read: 12

Leave a Reply

