Much Obliged Jeeves, P.G. Wodehouse

Much Obliged, Jeeves

Where were we?  Ah yes, I had just told Jeeves that I was sitting on top of the world with a rainbow round my shoulder, but expressing a doubt as to whether this state of things would last, and how well -founded that doubt proved to be; for scarcely a forkful of eggs and b later it was borne in upon me that life was not the grand sweet song I had supposed it to be, but, as you might stay, stern and earnest and full of bumps.

When I asked Adam, another character of ISH, to help me with these recordings for my reading competition, I also asked him if he had any recommendations.  Immediately he told me that I should read a book he happened to have in his room: Much Obliged Jeeves by P.G. Wodehouse.  Had I read any of the series? He inquired. I hadn’t.  He smiled and told me I was in for a treat.

I trust Adam and his British wit I believe has most likely taken generations to cultivate.  His pick of Much Obliged, Jeeves betrays this completely.  It’s one of the wittiest novels I’ve ever read.  So witty, I fear I missed a lot of it.

If you’re not familiar with P.G. Wodehouse’s series (or the t.v. series as I have also discovered), Much Obliged, Jeeves is the second last book in the series that follow Bertie Wooster and his butler Jeeves.  Since I have not read any of the other books in the series, I was compelled to get up to speed quickly with this novel; thankfully the novel does a good job of summarizing most of the others in two pages.  It’s a bit of a dizzying book with a lot happening at once: one of Bertie’s friends Ginger, who is engaged to a terrible woman and also running for Parliament, needs Bertie’s help when Ginger’s disgruntled employee Bingley steals the Club Book of the Junior Ganymede Club, a club formed by the butlers.  The book contains all the dirt the butlers have shared about their employers.  The novel follows with absolute chaos, and a fury of characters running about, often preventing Bertie and Jeeves in succeeding in their quest.

When I think of this book I actually think of a more sarcastic, more openly ridiculous version of Downton Abbey.  If you’re a fan of British culture, British wit, and over the top British names, you should definitely look into the Totleigh Towers series.

Now I want to briefly come back to Adam who did read from the first page of this novel.  I cannot emphasize enough how British he is, or seems, and it’s a bit comical when you discover he actually was raised in Germany.  His roots are nonetheless very British – he’s met Stephen Hawking multiple times and drank port with Prince Philip, so I don’t believe you can get more British than that!  Please enjoy his lively reading of Much Obliged, Jeeves.  Perhaps or perhaps not already a few gin and tonics in.  We’ll never tell.

Books read: 7

Leave a Reply

