When Everything Feels Like the Movies, Raziel Reid

Featured image

I have the stomach flu, so I’m hoping to catch up on my reading this weekend. Silver linings, right?

When Everything Feels Like the Movies is the story of Jude Rothesay, a hypersexual, super femme, drug-abusing, aggressive, 15 year old, middle school-aged aspiring star. Yup.

It also won the Governor General’s Award for Children’s Literature this past November. The author is Raziel Reid, who is 24 years old. In short, what am I doing with my life?

The book is raw and offensive and refuses to consistently paint Jude or anyone in a wholly sympathetic light. The only real complaint I have is that the drug use and sexuality doesn’t necessarily seem consistent with the actual experience of junior high school students, but I was a total nerd in junior high, so what do I know?

In short, read it. Truly understand that it is about middle school students. You will feel massively uncomfortable throughout. Read it anyway.

Books read: 4

Leave a Reply

