A Caribbean Mystery, Agatha Christie

a-caribbean-mystery

‘Do you think a murderer ought to be a happy man?’
Miss Marple coughed.
‘Well, the usually have been in my esperience.’
‘I don’t suppose your experience has gone very far,’ said Mr Rafiel.
In this assumption, as Miss Marple could have told him, he was wrong. But she forbore to contest his statement. Gentlemen, she knew, did not like to be put right in their facts.

For the first time, I wasn’t able to find a picture of the cover I was reading, so instead I picked the weirdest cover I could find. I mean, what is happening in this cover image? Why is that disembodied head so green? Is it falling somewhere? What sort of expression is that? No one in this book gets decapitated, so I don’t know what’s going on here.

I really love Agatha Christie’s books, even though, generally speaking, I’m not a huge mystery/detective story fan. But Christie’s writing is so clear and engaging, and her characters are so fully realized. Murder on the Orient Express was one of my first Christie novels, and I’ve been hooked ever since. They’re easy, fairly quick reads, but far from simple. Agatha Christie, Queen of Crime: the best-selling novelist in history.

Of all of Christie’s fictional detectives, I think I like Miss Marple best. Miss Marple is sharp-witted, inquisitive, and extremely perceptive, always neatly putting together the facts that everyone else misses. She solves the crimes not by poking around for evidence or through so-called deductive reasoning, but simply by talking and listening. People underestimate or overlook Miss Marple, thinking she’s just a fluffy old lady, and she uses that to her advantage. People have no clue when they’re being interrogated by Miss Marple.

A Caribbean Mystery isn’t a great Christie book, but it’s fun nonetheless. Vacationing on a Caribbean island for health reasons, Miss Marple finds this investigation a bit more tricky as usual; when you travel, she notes, you really have no way of knowing anything about the people you meet, aside from what they tell you.

Anyways, you get the point, I think. While this isn’t my favourite Christie novel, it’s still a great read. Honestly, I have yet to be disappointed by anything she’s written.

XO

Books read: 4

One response to “A Caribbean Mystery, Agatha Christie

Leave a Reply

