Judy Blume and Lena Dunham in Conversation, Judy Blume and Lena Dunham

Okay…I got sidetracked from my stack, yet again. I was diligently updating my Goodreads page, when this book grabbed my attention in the recommended list. Judy Blume AND Lena Dunham interview each other?? Can I be reading that right? A beloved author from my elementary years (i.e. Tales of a Fourth Grade Nothing, Fudge-A-Mania) and the writer/star or HBO’s Girls are going to gab it up?

To be honest, I have only seen two episodes of Girls and that was all I could handle. I personally did not relate to the characters. I found them annoying and grew weary listening to their vapid problems and endless drama. But, perhaps that is the inside joke of the show. In that case, ha ha?

Anyway, I know Lena Dunham came out with a book of memoirs recently (I saw it in Urban Outfitters, which is not a huge shock). I haven’t read it yet, but I am curious to see how closely she embodies her characters, if at all. However, stumbling upon this 2013 Believer interview is WAY better! I knew that the literary cream, if any, would have to rise to the surface when Ms. Dunham was stuck in a room with Judy Blume. How could it not?

The interview is delightful and you feel like you are eavesdropping on a conversation between two kindred spirits, despite their age difference. It’s worth checking out, especially if you are interested in one or both of these cultural icons. Also, no surprise, they are both voracious readers. They dish on several of their favourite reads.

I tried to find a hard copy of this 80 page interview, but to no avail. It used to be available with a subscription to Believer Magazine. So if there are hard copies around, would you let me know? In the meantime, here is the PDF version, courtesy of a link on Judy Blume’s website.

It’s a fun time, what more can I say?

Books Read: 6

lenadunham_judyblume_cover

2 responses to “Judy Blume and Lena Dunham in Conversation, Judy Blume and Lena Dunham

Leave a Reply

