Yes, Please – Amy Poehler

Yes-Please_612x381
“Hopefully as you get older, you start to learn how to live with your demon. It’s hard at first. Some people give their demon so much room that there is no space in their head or bed for love. They feed their demon and it gets really strong and then it makes them stay in abusive relationships or starve their beautiful bodies. But sometimes, you get a little older and get a little bored of the demon. Through good therapy and friends and self-love you can practice treating the demon like a hacky, annoying cousin. Maybe a day even comes when you are getting dressed for a fancy event and it whispers, “You aren’t pretty,” and you go, “I know, I know, now let me find my earrings.” Sometimes you say, “Demon, I promise you I will let you remind me of my ugliness, but right now I am having hot sex so I will check in later.
 
Today, my cell phone got stolen, so it was a good thing I started a more uplifting book like Yes Please last night rather than something devastating, because the devastation to my bank account in having to buy a new phone is about enough emotion for one day don’tcha think?  (My roommate and I are going to bake cookies soon so things will get better I swear).
I read a memoir by a female comedian every Bookstravaganza – first year I read Tina Fey, and last year I read Mindy Kaling.  This year, it’s Amy’s turn.  While longer than the other two, Yes Please did not disappoint.  What I especially liked about Yes, Please was, in addition to being hilarious, there was also a lot of unveiling of honest emotion.  I remember the day I found out Amy Poehler and Will Arnett were getting a divorce – I stopped believing in love that very minute.  While she spares us the details of that event in her life (and good for her for keeping her private life private), it is obvious that despite seeming to be a superwoman, she still hurts, and feels things, and think her stomach isn’t flat enough, just like the rest of us.
 
Like the other comedic memoirs I’ve read, Amy still approaches the trivialities of life with a sense of humour.  The day before she was due to give birth to her first son, the doctor who was supposed to deliver her child DIED.  I can’t even imagine.  And of course, a woman who is nine months pregnant is not going to react kindly to such news.  But her retelling of the events of that story was hilarious, and of course, she was fine eventually.  The point of all this is – I want to have the strength and wit of Amy Poehler when I grow up.
 
My dear friend Danielle, who is living in Thailand right now, told me I should also listen to this as an audiobook, because it’s narrated by Amy, and apparently it’s just splendid.  But that will have to happen once Bookstravaganza is over!
Books read: 4
Leave a Reply

