The Ten Books I Must Read Before 2014 Dies

Today’s a busy day. Swimming lessons, community league volunteering, and a Christmas party. Good thing I have another day or two to prepare before tackling this stack:

wpid-20141128_135154.jpg

Problem is, most days are like this. Packed full of work, family, and community stuff. On average, I read five books per month, which people tell me is a LOT for someone with young kids, so how the heck am I going to read (and review!) ten? Here are my strategies:

  • Multiple formats: Always have a paper book, an ebook, and, new for me, an audio book on the go. Audio books are slow, but they give me a use for the hour or so I spend alone in the car every day (you know, my “me” time.)
  • Different genres: I’m mixing it up with stuff I don’t usually read, to keep my interest: non-fiction, YA, and mystery.
  • Novellas: I’ve been Novella-ing in November over on Reading in Bed, and I’m gonna keep going! Most of the books pictured here are between 225 and 300 pages, but I’m thinking some novellas will work their way onto my Kobo. There is no minimum page count, after all!
  • Every spare moment: I see some Bookstavaganza-ers talking about giving up their social lives for the month to read more, but I did that years ago, so I’m going to have to be creative: reading through lunch at work, ereader while laying down with kids to put them to bed, and hiding in the bathroom…. oh, who am I kidding, I already do all those.

Wish me luck!

4 responses to “The Ten Books I Must Read Before 2014 Dies

      • Murder on the Orient Express is ALSO one of my favourite books—or at least one of my favourite Christies. (And she and I have spent MUCH time together.)

        I loved Boy, Snow, Bird! Definitely one of my top reads this year. And I’m interested to read what you have to say about The Unfinished Child. I have very mixed feelings about it.

  1. Pingback: B is for Bookstravaganza | Reading in Bed·

Leave a Reply

