Gone Girl – Gillian Flynn

Gone-Girl

I was pleasantly surprised by this novel! I was expecting an interesting little whodunnit with a twist and some surprises. I already knew a bit too much about the twists in this book thanks to the fact that I love book reviews and culture pieces on Slate, Salon, The New Yorker, etc and I rarely bother trying to avoid spoilers. However, I was really surprised by the quality of the book and how smoothly it clicked together!

I picked up the book with expectations of a good plot, surprising characters, and a few twists based on the reviews I had read, however, what really impressed by was the finesse Flynn had in manipulating the characters and her writing to surprise the reader! Despite starting the book with a pretty good idea of the plot outline, I found myself genuinely surprised at several points. Flynn does a beautiful job of setting up characters that seem to defy the tropes you’d expect based on the premise of the, waiting until you’re settled in and comfortable with the fact that you know the main characters, and then pulling the rug out under you. Even thought she does this several times throughout the novel, she manages to line everything up so perfectly that it’s continually unexpected.

Vague review? Maybe, but I think Gone Girl is a great little read that deserves the attention it’s getting and I don’t want to give too much away. Give it a read and let me know what you think!

2 responses to “Gone Girl – Gillian Flynn

  1. Pingback: The Girl on the Train, Paula Hawkins | Bookstravaganza YEG·

Leave a Reply

