Circa Nineteen Hundred and Grief, Tim Bowling

timbowling

 

“Somewhere a shy girl
who loves books more

than anything
tucks her legs up
under and
pushes off from shore
and I recede
to the ink of the worlds
I have made.”

Books of poetry are not well suited to Bookstravaganza. I want to sit with each of these for an evening and let them breathe, but I can’t, because there are so many books left to read. This thin little tome took forever to get through, because I didn’t want to be a reading monster like I normally am. The verse I’ve above resonated with this shy girl who loves books more than anything, so I’ve shared it and wish I could share more. I’ll do that next month.

I heard Tim Bowling read from this at a Poetry Festival event, pictured above, where Matthew and I somehow ended up working the merch table. We both needed to buy this book upon hearing that poem (“My father walked to work, and his work was on the water”). I’m feeling drawn to these poems, although the imagery is of coastal scenes and fish rather than prairie thunderstorms, because the running theme is of family, specifically relationships with the father. Way to speak to where I’m at, Bowling. Change some of the language to tractors and pumpjacks, and I may well have written it (nobody wants that, I’m not a poet).

Also, unrelated to content: this book is gorgeous. It’s a Gaspereau Press book, and I just want to put my face on it, you know?

Books read: 2

 

2 responses to “Circa Nineteen Hundred and Grief, Tim Bowling

Leave a Reply

