Stacked!

IMG_6338

My stack is ever-changing, which kind of annoys me because it only reminds me how indecisive I am.  This picture was the original stack I had planned to read, but I kept swapping ones in and out.  To combat my indecision I have been asking my friends who are helping me with my reviews (see last post) if they’d like to also influence what I’ll be reading this month.  I’ve been sending them all this list, compiled of books from the shelves of the International Student House, and also my accessible collection on e-reader, or suggesting they lend me a book of theirs (sadly one that has to be in English as I am only unilingual.)

So far the list includes:

– Saturday by Ian McEwan

– Beloved by Toni Morrison

– A Mercy by Toni Morrison

– Divergent by Veronica Roth

– The Buccaneers by Edith Wharton

– Brave New World by Aldous Huxley

– Fall on Your Knees by Ann-Marie McDonald

– My Man Jeeves by P.G. Woodhouse

– As I Lay Dying by William Faulkner

– Lincoln at Gettysburg: The Words that Made America Great by Garry Wills

What I like so far about these choices is that there is a wide representation: comedy and tragedy; American and Canadian; in the past and in the future; non-fiction and of course fiction.  But I’m starting to realize while looking at these 10 books is 18 doesn’t seem like nearly enough.  No matter I’m looking forward to seeing what other books will be added.

Predictably, my goal keeps fluctuating too.  You see at first I thought I would be happy with 13, but now that I’ve realized that will bring me just 5 books shy of my goal of 52 books this year, I think I should step it up a notch and declare a new goal of 18, and really put the heat on.

One response to “Stacked!

Leave a Reply

