All Aboard The Book Stack Express- Rebecca’s Stack

My goal is to read (at least) 11 books. That is (at least) one more than I read last December. That is why there are definitely more than 11 books in my stack. I tried to vary my reads with a combo of light and heavy & old and new, because you never know how you are going to feel after a book, right? Sometimes you need a palate cleanser.

I have books in here that I have wanted to read for a while, like The 100 Year Old Man and Shantaram. I also typically gravitate to more classic novels. So, voila! Orwell’s 1984 and Kafka’s Metamorphosis. Also, for this cycle of Bookstravaganza, I wanted to include a few more recent, “trendy” titles, so I picked up Gone Girl and Oprah Winfrey’s What I Know For Sure too. One new book, that is not pictured, is Hakuri Murakami’s latest novel, Colorless Tsukuru Tazaki and His Years of Pilgrimage: A novel (which Arielle has graciously offered to lend me, once she has finished. Thank you!). I’ll see what she thinks of it first though. Momma didn’t raise no fool!

There are definitely a few titles in here that I am extra pumped to tackle, like The Table of Less Valued Knights. Monty Python meets Camelot? Yes Please! Or The Klondike, a graphic novel about the gold rush I picked up in Regina at the RCMP Depot. I also have A House in the Sky by Amanda Lindhout, which my Dad gave me. He’s going to read it too; I am looking forward to our post read chat! Or how about S. by J.J. Abrams (Lost, Alias)? It’s a book within a book*, complete with writing in the margins, postcards, notes, and old book smell, etc.?! A multi-sensory experience where you feel like you are snooping. Sounds cool, or at the very least, ambitious and kind of messy!

I am stoked to dive into this pile of books and bury my brain deeply in the richness of their stories. So welcome aboard! Join me and my friends on our literary journey. I hope we all learn a little, laugh a little, and maybe cry a little too.

*Does this count as two books, judges?? 😉

Books, books, and more books!

Books, books, and more books!

4 responses to “All Aboard The Book Stack Express- Rebecca’s Stack

Leave a Reply

