Bookstravaganza: All this happens, more or less

russell

Do you know what it’s like to read 34 books in a month?

I do. It’s lonely. It’s joyful. It’s miserable. You forget to eat, or you eat too much. You drunk-read, and then you have to re-read half a book because whisky took the plot away. You spend whole nights staring brokenly into the abyss because my god, Cormac McCarthy can do that to you. And you take a bit of comfort knowing that wrapped in blankets with cups of earl grey, your dearest friends are staring into their own abysses. You’re in it together. At the end, you have bragging rights for another year (how does it feel to lose, Stepanic?!) and you’ve raised some money for a worthy cause.

So of course we’re doing it again.

This is Bookstravaganza, the greatest time of year. We are maybe a little crazy, definitely a lot competitive, and we are going to read as many books as we possibly can between 12:01 a.m. on December 1 and 11:59 p.m. on December 31. I am going to win, because I always do.

But that’s not the most important thing. We could just read a bunch of books for the heck of it, but we do that the rest of the year. This month, we’re fundraising for the Edmonton Public Library’s Welcome Baby initiative.

That is the most important thing. I wouldn’t be me without crazy overflowing bookshelves and an obsession with how words fit together. And I wouldn’t have either of those things if I hadn’t had literacy tools from the very beginning of my life.

Everyone should have access to stories, and that’s what Welcome Baby is about – ensuring every single child born in Edmonton over the next five years has the tools they need to turn into a voracious reading monster (just like me!). That’s the best cause I can think of.

So follow along with us. We’re going to read a lot. I’m going to lose small pieces of my sanity. And with your help and donations, we can ensure that everyone has the opportunity to love stories as much as we do.

Leave a Reply

