The Sisters Brothers, Patrick deWitt

ElDishdeWitt4

When a man is properly drunk, it is as though he is in a room by himself – there is a physical, impenetrable separation between him and his fellows.”

I finished this book shortly before new years’ festivities and thus did not get a chance to blog immediately. Now, I am recovering from new years’ festivities so I am going to keep this review brief.

The thing about this book is I have owned it for almost a year now and have been meaning to read it for a while. Almost everyone I know amped this book up for me, so maybe it was excess hype or just the general ennui I have been feeling this past week but I did not feel too strongly about this book. I have been pretty much done with the western genre since I took a film studies class that only covered Clint Eastwood, so that could be why too. (Though in Matthew’s words, “It’s a literary western!”)

I had a hard time with the way Eli and Charlie talked, to be honest. Their way of speaking (not in the narrative of course but in their dialogue) seemed a bit too distinguished and educated for men of their pastime and trade. Someone once told me as a writing tip that characters should not talk extremely fancy if that is not their designation or title. (Unless you’re in an Aaron Sorkin script, in which case such rules do not apply).

I think this is a book I will have to reread in the future, when I am in a better mood and not rushing to finish. I made it to last year’s total of 10 again, so I am happy to say I am consistent and unwavering in at least one area of my life.

Total books read: 10

Leave a Reply

