Skipping Towards Gomorrah, Dan Savage

“‘It’s all about love,’ Tim said, pointing at my notebook. ‘You write that down, mister. Love. Love and lamps. That’s what it’s all about.'”

Like Sydney, I had the pleasure of seeing Dan Savage speak at LitFest this year. And like Sydney, I hadn’t read any of Savage’s books. My experience of Savage was restricted to his sex-advice column that I’d read anytime I had a copy of Vue Weekly. I enjoy his wit and reasoning in that, so I suspected I wouldn’t have a problem getting through one of his books.

In this book, Savage posits that people should be allowed to follow their vices in pursuit of happiness as long as they don’t harm anyone in the process. So in Savage fashion, he travels across the US of A to commit each of the seven deadly sins and prove how typical sinners are otherwise virtuous people.

This book was quite appropriate to cap off my Christmas vacation. I’d been gluttonous in my consumption of food and drink. I’m envious of Dorothy’s Bookstravaganza total. And now I’m going to be slothful in half-assing this review.

My whole person is focussed on finishing The Luminaries before the end of the year (I have about 200 pages and 16 hours, so it’s entirely doable). So I’m going to go back to that now.

$T2eC16N,!yEE9s5jE,bVBR(V5U8tlQ~~_35

Books Read: 20

Leave a Reply

