Dear Life, Alice Munro

alice munro

A few months ago, I had cause to send an all-caps text message to several of my dearest. That message was two words: ALICE MUNRO.

They knew what I meant. Alice Munro won the Nobel Prize for Literature, and if you didn’t know that I don’t know why you’re reading this. Munro is taught in every Canadian classroom. We learn from her stories because they can teach us much. So when she won the Nobel Prize (the first Canadian, and the first Canadian woman no less, ever to do that), it was like fireworks going off; absolute joy. When a Canadian author is the number one story on the six o’clock news, can you be anything other than ecstatic? And then my mom gave me almost her complete works for Christmas, because that’s what mothers do.

For Bookstravaganza, I picked Dear Life, because it’s new. And it was a bad decision. I want to come back to these stories and read one a day. They’re these compressed novels, thirty pages of entire lives, and who writes like that? Nobody writes like that but Alice Munro. I kept getting distracted and reading pages over again, because all these lives are so fascinating – all these decision moments and intersections. God, I need to read this book so many times. I need to come back to it again and again. Because that’s what you do with Alice Munro.

Books read: 31

Leave a Reply

