Power Politics, Margaret Atwood

“your kiss is no longer literature
but fine print, a set of instructions.”

I found this book at the Wee Book Inn and was immediately excited by it: a first-edition Atwood. I forked over $6 without a second thought–even though the cashier was hesitant to sell it to me: “Are you sure you want this? It’s all marked up.” Fool, I did not say to him.

Little did I realize that by reading Power Politics, I would not only be having a conversation with Margaret Atwood but also everyone who had added their annotations. And the hands that marked up these pages belonged to simple minds. Were you certain of anything d. schamuhr (sp?)? When you wrote your paper on the text for your prof, did you end every sentence with a question mark like you did your annotations? (Also, thanks for pointing out all the clichés, d.)

And W. J. Bames (sp?), thank you for underlining everything and putting a tidy little asterisk next to it. I appreciate the way you drew arrows between two related lines that had been separated between two stanzas–very helpful. Oh, and in case you’re reading this, I’m pretty sure “romance?” was romance.

And which of you wrote in pencil? Or did this book have a third owner? And a fourth who circled the date of publication in red? I do not plan on this book moving past its fifth(?)–where will my books go when I die?–as I had Atwood sign this book for me.

“you fit into me
like a hook into an eye
a fish hook
an open eye”

AtwoodBooks Read: 19

Leave a Reply

