Slaughterhouse-Five, Kurt Vonnegut, Jr.

“I wish you and your family also as to your friend Merry Christmas and a happy New Year and I hope that we’ll meet again in a world of peace and freedom in the taxi cab if the accident will.”

After I read “Poo-tee-weet?” on the last page of Slaughterhouse-Five, I returned to the beginning and began the book again. I was three pages in before I awoke from my instinctive reaction to the end of such a book, and closed it to free myself from the loop. Holy shit this book is brilliant. I want to read it again–after Bookstravaganza when I’m able to do so (though really, we should be allowed to read this one twice immediately and have it count as two). I want to come to this book as a Tralfamadorian and see all of its moments at once.

While I read this book today, my sister made some progress on the only book she’s read so far in December: The Power of Now. I take much more comfort in the idea that all moments always have existed and always will exist. I may have to slip this book between the pages of hers so that my sister can read something with substance.

SlaughterhouseBooks Read: 13 

2 responses to “Slaughterhouse-Five, Kurt Vonnegut, Jr.

  1. Vonnegut is everything. I remember reading the first paragraph of this book and actually shouting, because you’re not supposed to tell stories that way.

    Also, I love the subtle sibling jibes. Does your sister read the blog?

  2. Yes, she has been. So I heard several times yesterday, “Or maybe it’s because I don’t have any substance!” To which I had to clarify, “No, your book! Your book doesn’t have any substance!”

Leave a Reply

