Bridget Jones’s Diary, Helen Fielding

Image

“That is such crap. How dare you be so fraudulently flirtatious, cowardly and dysfunctional? I am not interested in emotional fuckwittage. Goodbye.” 

So I fulfilled my goal in one night and read Bridget Jones’ Diary to perk myself up through winter doldrums (still not opening Bleak House, I might add.)  Another book of which I shamelessly adore its film version, but had not yet read the original text itself.  And yes, like the other two, I find myself at the end still adoring both the film and the book despite quite a few differences between them both.  

If you happen to live under a rock, Bridget Jones’s Diary is a fictitious diary of Bridget Jones, a thirty-something woman living in London, desperately trying to get her life together by dieting, dating, and dreaming of a better job.  The novel is slightly based on Jane Austen’s Pride & Prejudice, particularly in the two characters of Mark Darcy and Daniel Cleaver, Bridget’s romantic interests and coincidentally bitter rivals.

Despite its loose connection to Austen’s most beloved work, I find the most brilliant aspect of this novel is embodied simply by Bridget’s very comical and honest voice.  There are tons of great lines, read almost like mantras for the modern woman.   But I find what I like the most about Bridget is that she isn’t a modern Lizzie Bennet.  Bridget is so utterly human, so disastrous and frazzled that I don’t even have to pretend to aspire to her.  Sometimes I get rather tired of heroines I feel like I must act like, must pretend to be like.   Being a woman is very complicated; societal expectations from men and other women are so numerous that they leave hardly any room to allow us to do anything embarrassing or foolish, not to mention to not look absolutely perfect or want to look absolutely perfect, to feel unmotivated or dispassionate, to change our minds, and to express ourselves when we want to.  All the while surrounded by a world of complete emotional fuckwittage.  It’s not fair, is it?  And I’m glad we at least have Bridget Jones to stand up against that for us.  About time.

Books Read: 8

2 responses to “Bridget Jones’s Diary, Helen Fielding

  1. Pingback: REVIEW: Mad About the Boy, (Bridget Jones 3) by, Helen Fielding | Curious Kindle Reader·

Leave a Reply

