Shenzhen: A Travelogue From China, Guy Delisle

shenzhen-panels

Guy Delisle, how do I love thee? Let me count the ways.

I’ve been on a Delisle binge lately. A few months ago, I picked Jerusalem: Chronicles From the Holy City for a book club pick, and since then I’ve been reading everything of his I can get my hands on. Recently, I read Pyongyang, and you should, too. Have you ever wanted to read a comic book about an animator’s stint in North Korea working as a liaison between production studios? Have you only just realized at this moment that that’s a thing you want? I have it; you can borrow it.

Shenzhen is a different beast. In Pyongyang, Delisle was an incredible cynic. Not here. This book tells the story of a man who goes to China to do a job. He is fairly bored. He wishes he’d gotten to work in a different city. Nobody speaks his language. Somehow (probably because Delisle is very good at what he does), he manages to craft an interesting narrative out of all that. There’s a lot to relate to in this weirdly unrelatable situation. And, as is his custom, the art is pretty good, too. Read Guy Delisle, everyone. Or just read comics. They’re worth it.

Books read: 5

Leave a Reply

