The Rosie Project, Graeme Simsion

I am radiating with positive energy. Half of the reason for this is the wonderful weekend I had working the Royal Bison Craft & Art Fair and meeting tons of awesome people, and the other half is finishing this lovely novel. (The former took up most of my day, so I’m impressed that I was able to reach my self-set goal of finishing a book on the first day. If I can’t complete at least a book a day at the start, I have no hope in keeping up in this marathon.)

I’m a fan of a cute love story–which may have something to do with my perpetual singleness, but whoa, I probably shouldn’t unload everything here. It could be because it’s midnight and I’ve taken a double dose of cold medication, but I shouldn’t force you to suffer through the logorrhea that I inflicted on everyone else this weekend.

A good book requires at least two ingredients (there’s probably more, but remember: cold medication): a good story and good characters. The Rosie Project has both of them. Don and Rosie are incredibly endearing characters and–as is typical to the rom-com formula–you can’t help but cheer on their romance despite their differences.

Coherent thoughts are failing me, so I should probably sneak off to bed. I’ll leave you with one of the first sweet scenes where, in the Heilbrun Cosmic Pathway at the American Museum of Natural History,  Don and Rosie finally show the affection for each other that we all know has been growing:

“On other occasions, I have listened to people’s reactions as they reach the end. ‘Makes you feel a bit unimportant, doesn’t it?’ they say. I suppose that is one way of looking at it–how the age of the universe somehow diminishes our lives or the events of history or Joe DiMaggio’s streak. But Rosie’s response was a verbal version of mine. ‘Wow,’ she said, very quietly, looking back a the vastness of it all. Then, in this vanishingly small moment in the history of the universe, she took my hand, and held it all the way to the subway.”

RosieProject

 

Books Read: 1

2 responses to “The Rosie Project, Graeme Simsion

Leave a Reply

