Anne Frank’s Tales from the Secret Annex

AnneFrank

“How lovely to think that no one need wait a moment, we can start now, start slowly changing the world! How lovely that everyone, great and small, can make their contribution toward introducing justice straight away!”

I’m not going to be reviewing the books I read, per say. Book reviews are boring, to me. I would rather tell you stories. Isn’t that what Bookstravaganza is about, after all?

Earlier this week I went to go see my high school’s Drama 30 production of The Diary of Anne Frank. One of the kids from my theatre company was playing Ann, so for her I traipsed back to Festival Place theatre, a place so integral to own my high school years.

The play was brilliant, beautifully done. Sets, costumes, lighting, and of course, brilliant acting. I was so proud of my girl.

Of course, I cried like a baby through the whole play, especially at the end. Anne Frank’s story is a bittersweet one. It’s hard to read, or watch it play out on stage, when you know how tragically it ends. But for all it’s pain, Anne’s legacy is a beautiful one; through her diary, she has touched the lives of so many people.

My copy of Anne Frank’s diary was gifted to me by my grade two teacher, who felt that I would enjoy reading it in a few years. It was many years before I did pick it up, but it did touch my heart. Anne’s courage, maturity, and curiosity is remarkable, even in the face of such horrible circumstances. Less well known is Tales from the Secret Annex, a collection of Anne’s other writings. It includes stories, fables, reflections, an unfinished novel, and unpublished portions of her diary.

Anne was an incredible girl, dedicated to reflection and self-improvement. She deeply understood people, her own self included, and she spent a lot of time reflecting on improving the world, the importance of showing kindness, and how to find happiness and inner peace. Each story in Tales from the Secret Annex has this core message about just being the goodness in the world.

The world lost an incredible person, and a very talented writer, when Anne Frank died. But thanks to the magic to stories, the magic of the written word, she isn’t entirely lost.

“Once and for all they had learned the great lesson that people mus laugh and weep, each at the right time.”

Book Count: 1

Leave a Reply

