Charlie St. Cloud, Ben Sherwood

I was going to go to bed a couple hours ago, and I thought to myself, “Self, you know what would help you sleep? You should read a few chapters of a new book. That’s the ticket!”

We all know how that ends. Every time. Second wind, book’s done. Now I’m going to write this post and actually go to bed.

Folks, I took the fall on this one. You don’t need to read Charlie St. Cloud. Your time is more valuable than that. You probably could have recognized that based on the film adaptation starring Zac Efron. Pro tip: if the film adaptation stars Zac Efron, run the other way from the book! 

The only redeeming quality of this book is that it’s a quick read. Everything else about it is awful. Every single character gets everything they want and nobody really has to suffer. You can telegraph the ending about fifty pages in. It’s not a good ending. This book would be better if everybody died (or maybe I just hated all the characters enough to wish them dead). Even then, it would suffer from some of the worst technical writing I’ve had the misfortune of reading this month. I don’t particularly care about Charlie’s “defined deltoids and trapezoids,” but I could’ve been convinced if it had been written at maybe a grade ten reading level.  

One more thing: ghost sex.
Seriously.

Current Total: 29

Leave a Reply

