Weird Things Customers Say in Bookshops, Jen Campbell

Customer (holding up a copy of Ulysses): Why is this book so long?  Isn’t it supposed to be set in one day only?  How can this many pages of things happen to one person in one day?  I mean, I get up, have breakfast, go to work, come home…sometimes I might go out for a drink, and that’s it! And, I mean, that doesn’t fill a book, does it?

I picked up this book in Hatchard’s Book Shop in London and never had a chance to read it all the way through, so I picked it up, started over again, and laughed for the entire duration of the hour and a half it took me to read.  Yes, this is a humour book and not a novel.  No, I don’t give a fuck.  I’m so far behind anyways, light reading won’t hurt nor help me.

As someone who used to work in a book store, it’s sad to say that I’ve heard similar things from ridiculous customers as what appear in this book (each entry is submitted by various booksellers throughout the UK).  Once, a customer asked me if I had any books on “spanking,” and my first thought was he wanted a book on parental discipline.  Nope…other kind of spanking. Another time, a customer asked me to find a book, and the only thing she knew about it was that it was blue.  

So needless to say, this was a joy to read.

Current Total: 9

Leave a Reply

