“Will Grayson, Will Grayson”, John Green and David Levithan

“there’s no way to cross out something like that. the X is a diagram of two paths.”

This is the book’s conception story that I imagined when starting it:

John Green and David Levithan meet for a drink one night to discuss their latest projects. Green says, “So I’m writing this book about this teenage boy named Will Grayson–”

“Shut the fuck up!” Levithan interupts. “That’s what my book’s about.”

“You’re shitting me.” Once both the writers assure each other that niether one is shitting the other, they decide to combine their two narratives into one novel. And that’s how Will Grayson, Will Grayson was born.

And when I read the author interview at the back, I found out I wasn’t much off. (More specifically, I was only correct that each author wrote from a different Will Grayson’s perspective.)

If you want to read what this book’s about, check out Marina’s blog post. Just know that I fell so deeply in love with the Other Will Grayson’s narrative and then, it destroyed me half-way through. And I have yet to recover. I am half a human being. Thank you, Levithan.

Current Total: 10

One response to ““Will Grayson, Will Grayson”, John Green and David Levithan

  1. Pingback: Will Grayson, Will Grayson, John Green and David Levithan | Bookstravaganza YEG·

Leave a Reply

