Paper Towns, John Green

“We don’t suffer from a shortage of metaphors, is what I mean. But you have to be careful which metaphor you choose, because it matters.”

I didn’t plan to go on a John-Green bender during Bookstravaganza, but look what happened. I haven’t had Green for long enough in my life, and I’ve gotten greedy.

When I read this book, I didn’t have the feelings of nostalgia that Marina talked about in her blog post or that the characters mention plenty of times in Paper Towns. I’m a little disappointed because I fucking love nostalgia. Every morning for breakfast, I eat my nostalgia for yesterday’s breakfast.

What I really loved about this book is the quotation at the top of this blog post. That quotation justifies why I read. Sometimes it feels like the strings are breaking, and sometimes it feels like everything will always be connected like a root system. All I ask for from the books I read is a new way to describe how I feel about living. If you can reflect on that with every read, you know it’s been rewarding.

Current Total: 12

Leave a Reply

