Balloon Pop Outlaw Black, Patricia Lockwood

Patricia Lockwood is my Poetry Hero.

I don’t normally read poetry. I have a few favourite poems (Adrienne Rich’s “Diving into the Wreck” and Al Purdy’s “On Being Human”) that I read when I need them.

I believe that poetry’s mostly subjective; it’s about a mood. I don’t really know how to talk about this book, so I’m just going to write a bunch of lines down that I appreciated. Sometimes it’s because of the way that the lines sound, and sometimes it’s because of what I want them to mean.

 

On drawing Popeye:    “The Body: Think of your paper as a pan of milk. A pan of milk will form a skin.”

“Any piece of paper on which ‘popeye’ is printed counts as a Will, as it contains his signature, his witness, proof of his death, a list of all the property he owns, and the name of his inheritor.”

“Inseparable things are easily separated, she knows. The name of the tea at one end of the string, the tea itself at the other.”

“As her idea of hair grows longer, she starts stacking it higher every day, first to make room for bird wings, then to make room for whole birds, then to make room for their cages.”

“and ends on a semicolon, and a gibbous pause rises into the sky and hangs there instead of a moon.”

Current Total: 9

Leave a Reply

