Flowers in the Attic, V.C. Andrews

“It is so appropriate to color hope yellow, like that sun we seldom saw. And as I begin to copy from the old memorandum journals that I kept for so long, a title comes as if inspired. Open the Window and Stand in the Sunshine. Yet, I hesitate to name our story that. For I think of us more as flowers in the attic. Paper flowers. Born so brightly colored. and fading duller through all those long, grim, dreary, nightmarish days when we were held prisoners of hope, and kept captives by greed.”

I was tempted by the book’s opening lines. And the book’s premise: children locked away in the attic. It seems like the perfect place for them.

Do not read this book. Or do. It’s really up to you. I’d heard V.C. Andrews mentioned in many circles, and finally one of her books was being lent around my office. I was always curious about her books. And now I have read one, and that’s probably the end of it. I have a faint desire to read the other four books in the series, if only to watch all the characters die, to be certain of their deaths. Definitely won’t read any more Andrews during Bookstravaganza.

Flowers was just so… dull. It’s problems seemed trivial. And maybe I shouldn’t go into too much detail at the risk of sounding like a heartless person who hates children. I find children annoying, awkward, and/or amoral.

And the children in this book were at least the first two. I could go on a long rant about how the characters were made from cardboard and so, so dumb. Even when they were supposed to be smart. Perhaps it was the shoddy dialogue.

Formula fiction at its foulest.

Current Total: 7

Leave a Reply

