Bossypants, Tina Fey

“And when [my daughter] one day turns on me and calls me a Bitch in front of Hollister, give me the strength, Lord, to yank her directly into a cab in front of her friends, for I will not have that Shit.  I will not have it.”

Though perhaps not conventionally intellectual, I have learned more from this book than I have from any other book, ever.  I learned that everyone should try being skinny once, “like a super-short haircut or dating a white guy,” and that being fat for a while is a “natural phase of life and nothing to be ashamed of, like puberty or slowly turning into a Republican.”  But the most valuable lesson Bossypants has taught me is this: “I don’t fucking care if you like it.”

In this instance, Tina Fey is referring to women in comedy and the old debate over whether women are even funny at all.   My sense of humour is probably my strongest trait (and one of the few things going for me; in other respects, to quote Fey, “I am the worst”); therefore, I strongly believe that women can be just as funny, if not funnier, than men.  However, the statement “I don’t fucking care if you like it” can be applied to thousands of other things in my life.  I don’t fucking care if you like my sense of humour. I don’t fucking care if you like my hair, my weight, my attitude towards Christmas, the Mt Vesuvius-sized zit on my chin, or my charming personality.  I don’t fucking care if you like my car or my clothes.  And I don’t fucking care if you like my writing or my photography.

I have always felt like Liz Lemon (Fey’s character on 30 Rock) would be similar to my future self – smart and career-driven though ultimately single and awkward as hell.  It was neat to get a look inside the mind of the woman behind that character (because, though they are certainly similar, Tina Fey and Liz Lemon are not the same person).  I have picked a worthy idol in Tina Fey, the liberal feminist who had me laughing at least once a page throughout this book, and also a worthy second read for Bookstravaganza 2012.  I sincerely recommend it.

Current Total: 2

Leave a Reply

