The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian, Sherman Alexie

Hi all! My name is Kelin – first-time participant, long-time Bookstravaganza observer.

I have already discovered that my biggest Bookstravaganza challenge isn’t going to be how fast I can read – it’s going to be actually finding the time to sit down and read. So far into Bookstravaganza, I’ve had to work on my class final project, visit relatives, bake cookies, attend a super-awesome jazz concert, and plan and cook for a holiday gift draw (tonight!)… so reading hasn’t yet made it to my high priority list. This will change.

My first Bookstravaganza read, the Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian, is a book that’s been sitting on my shelves forever as one of these Young Adult Books I Need To Read. I love reading books that get themselves banned from schools. And I absolutely adore YA lit. (Marina – Paper Towns was the first John Green book I ever read!)

Diary was awesome. I’m not very good at reflecting on books right away, and I’m really not good at doing it publicly, so I’m not going to try very hard. My time is better spent catching up to Dorothy. But Alexie’s work felt very authentic to me. I fell into this book so quickly, and I loved the illustrations, and I loved that all the awfulness of poverty and alcoholism – and pain, in general, really – wasn’t glossed over or inflated beyond reason, just dealt with head-on. I don’t think I would have appreciated this book much if I’d been a teenager; I loved over-dramatized everything too much then. Now, I like the simplicity of the language. I like the short paragraphs and chapters and sentences.

I like that many statements are given extra weight just by being allowed to stand on their own, in their own paragraph. And it happens so often that it doesn’t feel forced, but is simply part of the natural rhythm and style.

Loved it, will read it again. Just not this month!

Current Total: 1

Leave a Reply

