Paper Towns, John Green

Dear Bookstravaganza Fans,

My name is Marina Reid Hale, and I am here to steal the Bookstravaganza crown from one Dorothy Roberts. I’m making good headway on my plan, too; at about 11:30am MST, I finished my first book: John Green’s Paper Towns.

I feel that before going on I must inform you of something: I’m not living in Edmonton at the moment. I’m not even living in Canada. For those of you that don’t know, I’ve spent the past to months living and studying in the beautiful  Cortona, Italy (seriously, do a Google Image search). You are welcome to catch yourself up on my Italian adventures at my other blog, should you feel so inclined (www.ciaomarina.tumblr.com).

I return home in a little over a week, but have bravely taken up the Bookstravaganza challenge while here. Despite my upcoming finals, despite my exciting travel opportunities, despite thirty other students convincing me to get drunk with them every night, I am reading my little Tuscan butt off. And I’m winning, too.

Paper Towns is a brilliant novel. I would recommend it, or anything written by John Green, in a literal heartbeat. Seriously, say the words “book recommendation” to me and before you even finish talking I may very well scream “JOHN GREEN” in your face.

The only problem is, I don’t know what to tell you about it.

Maybe I read it too fast (no such thing). Maybe the drive of competition has me strategically planning out my next book choice before I can reflect. I’m not sure. But I don’t know what to say about the magic that is Paper Towns (other than go read it right now).

As I was reading Paper Towns, I found myself reflecting on my own life a lot. The book takes place around prom and graduation. Understandably, there is a lot of reflection surrounding the events, the end of high school, and the beginning of a new chapter of life. I found myself thinking back to my own final year of High School, and that weird period of time where High School was ending and University life was beginning. I traipsed merrily down memory lane, trying to put my own experiences through the filter of Paper Towns.

I’ll save you guys the stories; I imagine I’m the only one who finds them remotely interesting. But that’s not the point, is it? Paper Towns is a book that can make you think about your own experiences in a new way. It sends you strolling through your memories, forcing you to reevaluate them. And isn’t that the mark of a great book, that it makes you see your own world differently?

XO

Current Total: 1

PS: I will be cross-posting my own entries to a seperate blog. You will find links at the bottom of each entry, like so: Cross-post

One response to “Paper Towns, John Green

  1. Pingback: Paper Towns, John Green | Bookstravaganza Bros·

Leave a Reply

