Outer Dark, Cormac McCarthy

Holy shit, Cormac McCarthy. Why do you have to go and do this all the time? Why does everything you write have to be so devastating and beautiful? 

So, Outer Dark’s about a guy and his sister who have a baby. The guy gives the baby away, and then he and his sister go on separate journeys where they are looking for each other/the baby, and everything is really messed up. That’s the recap.

It’s incestuous and homicidal and it’s beautifully told. Cormac McCarthy is one of the few authors who can make me keep a dictionary within reaching distance while I read. This book increased my vocabulary. All of his books do that. I want to be able to do that.

Teach me your ways, Cormac McCarthy. Your Pulitzer Prize-winning, Oprahdoration-inducing (yes I did just invent that word, please accept it as part of the Bookstravaganza lexicon), entirely badass ways. I want to know. 

Current Total: 2 (both excellent) 

Leave a Reply

